search navigation

HomeAssessment

Topics surrounding general assessment and the Fountas & Pinnell Benchmark Assessment Systems.

Beginning! Messages in this topic - RSS

Tiffotter
Tiffotter

6 days ago
Tiffotter
Tiffotter
I just got hired as an Interventionist for K-3, handed brand new kits BAS1 and LLI Green (and we have blue if needed I believe). Where do I even begin?? I'm a veteran teacher. I am going to observe an interventionist tomorrow. I will meet with my K-3 teachers on Wednesday.
0 link
Helenann Steensen, Fountas & Pinnell Consultant

5 days ago
Tiffotter wrote:
I just got hired as an Interventionist for K-3, handed brand new kits BAS1 and LLI Green (and we have blue if needed I believe). Where do I even begin?? I'm a veteran teacher. I am going to observe an interventionist tomorrow. I will meet with my K-3 teachers on Wednesday.

Use the BAS and LLI Guides! If the assessment is already completed, make sure you read page 1: Keys to a Successful Intervention Design in the LLI Guide before meeting with your teachers. Continue in Section 1 and 2. Peruse Section 3 and Section 4 for guidance on teaching using the LLI lessons and use the Online Videos to further support your training. You will have lots of questions. Go back and observe the Online Resource videos (in both BAS and LLI) whenever you have a question about how a component is supposed to look. Ask as often as needed. There are no wrong questions when working with struggling readers! The Frequently Asked Questions sections in both the BAS1 and the LLI Guides are also very helpful!!!

There are many suggestions given in each section of the LLI lesson that are very helpful in guiding your instruction. This allows you to pick and choose the best / most explicit teaching needed by your group of students. All components must be completed each day. One lesson per day!

Congratulations on being hired!!! Again.... ask if you have questions.

We wish you success!