search navigation

HomeIntervention

Discuss Leveled Literacy Intervention and the LLI supporting resources.

Decoding Strategy Question Messages in this topic - RSS

FPUser106052
FPUser106052

1/3/2019
FPUser106052
FPUser106052
Hi Everyone,

I am a Literacy Coach, and one of my BSI teachers has a student in LLI who has always had severe difficulties decoding and accuracy scores were always below 95%. She would sound out sight words, etc, but was extremely strong at self-correcting and monitoring for meaning. The student is a fifth grader.

Recently, she began using a strategy where she would sound out the word in her head, reread the phrase in her head, and then finally read out loud. The teacher reports that her accuracy is higher than it has ever been, but her comprehension is now suffering.

I feel that she is most definitely utilizing too much of her working memory on accuracy and decoding words and now is unable to monitor for meaning. Any cases like this that you have seen? What strategies can I offer in order to best meet the needs of this student?
Thanks.
0 link
Helenann Steensen, Fountas & Pinnell Consultant
Helenann Steensen, Fountas & Pinnell Consultant

1/5/2019
FPUser106052 wrote:
Hi Everyone,

I am a Literacy Coach, and one of my BSI teachers has a student in LLI who has always had severe difficulties decoding and accuracy scores were always below 95%. She would sound out sight words, etc, but was extremely strong at self-correcting and monitoring for meaning. The student is a fifth grader.

Recently, she began using a strategy where she would sound out the word in her head, reread the phrase in her head, and then finally read out loud. The teacher reports that her accuracy is higher than it has ever been, but her comprehension is now suffering.