search navigation

HomeAssessment

Topics surrounding general assessment and the Fountas & Pinnell Benchmark Assessment Systems.

Using the BAS Assessment with gifted students Messages in this topic - RSS

FPUser96086
FPUser96086

3/16/2019
FPUser96086
FPUser96086
I am an instructional coach at an elementary school. I have often heard from our teachers of the gifted students in 4th and 5th grade that the baseline assessment system does not give them enough information to identify the reading needs of these students. My district has teachers give the assessment both as a student measure of growth and as a teaching tool for future lessons. The teachers of these gifted students feel the assessment does not inform their teaching at all and feel it is not a good use of their teaching time because it takes too long and doesn't give them enough information. Can you give me some advice on how to respond to these teachers as well as places in the benchmark system that could provide more information about this topic?
0 link
Debbie Magoulick, Fountas & Pinnell Consultant
Debbie Magoulick, Fountas & Pinnell Consultant

3/18/2019
FPUser96086 wrote:
I am an instructional coach at an elementary school. I have often heard from our teachers of the gifted students in 4th and 5th grade that the baseline assessment system does not give them enough information to identify the reading needs of these students. My district has teachers give the assessment both as a student measure of growth and as a teaching tool for future lessons. The teachers of these gifted students feel the assessment does not inform their teaching at all and feel it is not a good use of their teaching time because it takes too long and doesn't give them enough information. Can you give me some advice on how to respond to these teachers as well as places in the benchmark system that could provide more information about this topic?