search navigation

HomeFountas & Pinnell Classroom

Lift students' learning beyond the walls of the classroom with texts and a blueprint for teaching that create authentic experiences in reading, thinking, talking, writing, and reflecting to realize what it truly means to live a literate life.

Phonics, Spelling & Word Study Pacing Messages in this topic - RSS

FPUser64941
FPUser64941

10/18/2018
FPUser64941
FPUser64941

I’m new to implementing the F&P phonics and word study system. In regard to pacing, I understand that the provided sequence of 100 lessons is a suggestion and the lessons should be taught considering the children in front of me. Could you provide me with a typical range in regards to how many principles are covered or lessons taught in a week or across a school year?
Teachers in my K-2 building who have taught using the 2003 version of PWS seem to vary greatly across a grade level in terms of how many principles they typically covered in a year. Some say they usually taught one principle per week, some say they taught one principle in a two week cycle, others have been teaching about 2-3 per week. We have 10 classrooms per grade level and across the school our students have very different experiences and exposures to the PWS principles as a result of teachers approaching their pacing so differently. I understand there will be some variation but when some teachers cover 18 principles in a year, some cover 36, and others almost 100, the variation is too wide. What is a recommended range?
Thank you for any guidance you can provide.

0 link
Helenann Steensen, Fountas & Pinnell Consultant
Helenann Steensen, Fountas & Pinnell Consultant

10/18/2018
FPUser64941 wrote: